FAA - Federal Aviation Administration

Related Ads



The Federal Aviation Administration ("FAA") is the element of the U.S. government with primary responsibility for the safety of civil aviation. It is separate from, and independent of, the NTSB.

Summary of Activities

The Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) is responsible for the safety of civil aviation. The Federal Aviation Act of 1958 created the agency, under the name Federal Aviation Agency. We adopted our present name in 1967 when we became a part of the Department of Transportation. The FAA's major roles include:

  • regulating civil aviation to promote safety;
  • encouraging and developing civil aeronautics, including new aviation technology;
  • developing and operating a system of air traffic control and navigation for both civil and military aircraft;
  • researching and developing the National Airspace System and civil aeronautics;
  • developing and carrying out programs to control aircraft noise and other environmental effects of civil aviation; and
  • regulating U.S. commercial space transportation.


Contact an Aviation Attorney near you to find out more about your legal rights.

This article is provided for informational purposes only. If you need legal advice or representation,
click here to have an attorney review your case .